Motivation and Choices

Today I feel optimistic, yet uninspired. It is a weird combination of feelings, they certainly contradict each other. I am listening to the New Music Friday playlist by Spotify while I daydream of possibilities for life. I am a dreamer. Full of wishes, hopes, and goals.

Achieving goals is hard work, but so bloody rewarding. Setting out to accomplishing anything, and actually crossing the finish line is an amazing feeling. You can look back and see where you came from, who you were before, all of the things you did to get to now. This is what it is all about. Finding the perfect balance between the past and the future to create a perfect now.

The only thing we can control is what we do right now. I want every person on the planet to know this. We control our own destiny. Yes others may influence it. Each day how many choices do we make? Some of these aren’t even conscious decisions. I have been awake for about 1 hour. So far, I have chosen to wake up, drink coffee, go pee, answer my phone, get writing. I am going to guess that we make at least 50 decisions in any given day.

I love TED talks. This one explained a study on making decisions, I haven’t found it yet – but this one is similar. What they did was they had two groups who could chose 1 of 2 paintings. One group was allowed to come back and trade paintings if they so chose. The other group was not given this option. The first group was found to second guess and be more unhappy with their painting. The second group loved their painting and we very happy with it. So what does this tell us?

Personally, I see it as confident decisions being healthier than waffling on a decision. It makes sense too… Whenever I sit too long with a decision, I end up getting frustrated and not making any decision. It builds up feelings of anxiety almost. So I decide that neither option is right for me, I should just know if it is for me. Do you agree or disagree? Let me know in the comments.

I think it is important to do what will make you the happiest and nothing else. If you want to do something, don’t ask for approval from anyone else. Get started before you can think about it, even if it is a bad decision, how bad can it really be? Life moves on and one day it will be a very distant memory. Think back to a time that you made a bad choice. You made it, dealt with consequences, and it got you to where you are today. There is no such thing as a bad decision, only wasted time.

What I want you to do now is get out and do it. Whatever it is, whatever you want to do. DO IT. You aren’t getting any younger. The perfect time is never going to be here. Begin now, and thank yourself later! Good luck with your adventures, go do something to excite yourself. As always, I love to hear any comments! ❤

Leave a comment